‘Twas the night before UKOUG 2008

I’ve not quite made it up to Birmingham yet, decided to travel up in the morning. My presenting slot is 12:20 on Monday, so I’m hoping for a good nights sleep at home beforehand, I don’t travel well (or often) and can find hotels take a while to get used to.

I’ve stayed at the City Inn in Birmingham for the last 7 or 8 years, but this year we have a new system at work and I’ve been booked into the Copthorne. I’ve just looked up trip advisor and was delighted to find that most guests are royally slagging it off. Dirty, noisy that kind of thing. The review mentioning the mice particularly caught my eye. It’s not cheap either!

This year as last I’m scheduled to speak at the same time as Tom Kyte. This has a couple of drawbacks – Hall 1 is obviously taken 😉 – I’m in Hall 11a this year, and I can’t get to see Tom myself!

This year I’m particularly looking forwards to Chris Antognini’s 2 hour masterclass, as well as the 2 hours from Tanel Poder. These are both on Friday, which should make it a great end to the conference – if I can keep concentrating until then.

With it being the 25th Anniversary of the UKOUG there are quite a few parties lined up. I’m hoping it will be an entertaining few days – the weather being suitably damp and cold – well it is December in Birmingham, sure ain’t San Francisco in September.

Leave a Reply

