Comparing ASM with ZFS

Here is a copy of the document I produced for UKOUG delegates attending my presentation on Comparing ASM with ZFS document.

I’m also making available the slides I used, though be WARNED these are 25MB in total (for 22 slides) so think before downloading!

I think in the end I was more comfortable talking about ASM than I was on ZFS, and I did not really do the ZFS part justice. I’m not all that convinced that the actual talk works all that well. I ran over and even then did not cover everything about ZFS that I wanted to.

With that in mind, I have put in two other abstracts for the UKOUG Birmingham conference. I think splitting up the talk into two seperate talks is really the only way to tackle it. Maybe it was like comparing apples & oranges after all.

What ASM can do for you

This will give insight into how ASM works and an understanding of its features. You will gain an insight in the benefits and drawbacks of running a database on ASM. I will cover:

  • Introduction to ASM
  • disk discovery
  • diskgroups
  • extents
  • mirroring
  • rebalancing
  • metadata
  • myths
  • and for ZFS:

    What ZFS can do for you

    This would give insight into how ZFS works and an understanding of its features. You will gain an insight in the benefits and drawbacks of running a database on ZFS. I would aim to cover:

  • Introduction to ZFS
  • Data Integrity
  • Creating a pool
  • Snapshots & Cloning
  • Particularly with the ZFS talk I’d like to do a few demos so people can see just how easy administration with ZFS really is.

    4 thoughts on “Comparing ASM with ZFS

    1. FYI – ZFS is cluster aware. You can fail over zpools in cluster and use a zfs mirrored root. with suncluster you do not need to have a raw partition for /globaldevices as it uses lofi for creating a raw device on zfs disk space.

        • ah, no… you are correct… in terms of multiple system using the same storage at the same time. ZFS does not do that.. For a while, with sun cluster, zfs was not usable for root drives and the accepted method under solaris was SDS or Veritas. Both SDS and Veritas were blown out of the water when suncluster was zfs root drive approved. zpools do make life a lot easier. 🙂

    Leave a Reply

    