UKOUG Conference Dilema

I find myself in a real dilema over this years UKOUG annual conference in Birmingham. No I’m not talking about whether I go to Tom Kyte’s “11g new features for DBAs” which clashes with Larry Carpenter’s “Best practices for creating your dataguard standby databases” (it’d be the dataguard talk, by the way). No I find myself on the horns of a much more personal dilema. My wife was due to give birth to our 2nd daughter 1 week ago. It still has not arrived.

The UKOUG conference is in Birmingham, which is just over an hour away by train from where I live, which is Oxford. I’ve been really looking forward to the conference for quite some time, probably more so than in the last couple of years. In fact I’ve been to the annual UKOUG conference now for the last 7 years, so it is quite a fixture in my calendar. For the first time though I was going to be a speaker, while I’ve given a few presentations at UKOUG Special Interest Group (SIG) events, this would be the first time I have presented at the annual conference. Sure it is one I had prepared earlier, but it’s still good to get an abstract accepted for the conference.

Normally, I would stay in Birmingham for the duration of the conference, and yes there is usually a few beers a bit of networking going on, but this year I’m going to commute, I was fearing I would have to miss the whole event, and it is still possible I will miss it if my standby offspring 😉 does arrive. I have also prepared a continuity plan for my presentation in the event I am assisting in a delivery suite in that I have enlisted the assistance of my colleague patrick hurley, fine upstanding deputy chair of the UNIX SIG.

Hopefully I’ll see you in Brum, but if I don’t make it, I think I’ve got a legitimate reason!

Leave a Reply

